A Night Out

19 Nov

…or How To Impress Jeff Klein if You Are a Girl: A Story in Three Parts

Part I: Live to Eat
Part II: Talkin’ Sports
Part III: Chasing with the Blue Stuff

*****

“You’re not one of those calorie-counting girls, are you?”

“…Are you kidding? How do you not know about my love affair with food?”

Although we’d only known each other for a grand total of two weeks at the time, that little exchange was the moment when I realized that Jeff and I understood each other perfectly.  I mean, who else would then proceed to pile my plate high with pasta, bread, and salad, laughing all the while?

Not one to back down from what I saw as a challenge, I finished everything on my plate that night.  To make a point, I went back for seconds when he did.  And–just to annoy him–I even picked at the food from his plate.  Perhaps we were just high on life (as is always the case when hanging out with Jeff), but I considered it to be a badge of honor to have eaten almost as much as he did.

His attention was mostly directed toward the NBA playoffs during the dinner, but in between comments about who we’d be rooting for (the underdogs, of course), Jeff and I managed to have a scintillating discussion about our mutual adoration of food.  While we both appreciated a good steak, Jeff thought that my preference for a rare T-bone was kind of gross (“Isn’t that just like sushi?”).  Naturally, I told him that eating his beef cooked medium-well was sacrilegious (“It’s like a charred travesty!”).  Jeff liked his beer, but I was a bitch-drinks-or-hard-liquor kind of girl.  Fortunately for the sake of our friendship, we both enjoyed ethnic food, and agreed that spicy food was good (especially if it made you cry).

Live to Eat

On a scale of One-to-Mundane, I’m pretty sure our conversation would’ve rated a ‘mundane x 10.’   In retrospect, though, it formed the basis for many of our interactions in the future.  In particular, I remember that I slowly managed, over the summer, to convince him that tiramisu was not inedible.  How did I know that I’d succeeded, or at the least, made an impression?  How else but by a patented JeffKlein text?

“just had a pulled pork sandwich at yankee stadium.  don’t know if there’s any tiramisu here but i’ll keep an eye out.”

2 Responses to “A Night Out”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Night Out « Kleinsaucer - December 2, 2010

    […] How To Impress Jeff Klein if You Are a Girl: A Story in Three Parts Part I: Live to Eat Part II: Talkin’ Sports Part III: Chasing with the Blue Stuff […]

  2. A Night Out « Kleinsaucer - December 22, 2010

    […] How To Impress Jeff Klein if You Are a Girl: A Story in Three Parts Part I: Live to Eat Part II: Talkin’ Sports Part III: Chasing with the Blue […]

Leave a Reply

