Rocky’s or Lange’s?!?

26 Nov

Last year after Thanksgiving, Jack, Jeff, and I met up at Lange’s Deli in Chappaqua. Although we were all busy during the thanksgiving holiday, we made a point to meet up for a little and catch up, talk about the lighter things in life.

Jeff and I arrived at Langs, Jack was late (A “classic” Jack, as we refer to it). What I find interesting is the strong feelings people have on which deli is better. Before Jack arrived, I remember having a passionate debate on this very topic. I personally prefer the Roast Beef at Lange’s, and the Chicken Cutlet at Rocky’s, whereas Jeff was an avid proponent of Rocky’s all the way. Interestingly, some of my other good friends, namely Rdubs, are not aware of how good the Roast Beef is at Lange’s (Lange’s has homemade Roast Beef, whereas Rocky’s uses boars head, a distant second in my opinion). When Jack arrived, he seemed indifferent. Heck, we were just happy he showed up.

None the less, this memory actually had a larger significance as I thought about it more. As Thao alluded to in her previous posts, Jeff loved food, and loved talking about it. Over the years, we have always had those debates about which local place is better – I bet everyone and their friends have this debate from time to time. After finishing our talk, Jeff tried my Roast Beef sandwich (consisting of Roast Beef, pickles, lettuce, and red wine vinegar). He understood my position after tasting Roast Beef deliciousness.

We concluded comparing these two landmark Chappaqua delis (technically New Castle because Rocky’s is in Millwood) is like comparing apples to oranges. Rockies is a 24hr all nighter with pretty good food all around, whereas Lange’s has carved out a niche, and has excellent specialty sandwhiches. Ever since that conversation, I have not viewed sandwhich tasting as a mundane task. Rather, sanwhich making is an art in need of appreciation when it is done right.

On that note, for people who do read this blog, which do you prefer, Rocky’s or Lange’s? I’m interested to see the results.

Kleinsaucer loved his sandwiches

3 Responses to “Rocky’s or Lange’s?!?”

  1. Rich Klein November 26, 2010 at 11:17 pm #

    E- You nailed it- it’s like comparing apples and oranges. I have a slight preference for Rocky’s, although I think part of it is because I like the 24/7 throwback deli that it is. You just don’t see that every day. But I do love certain specialty sandwiches at Lange’s. And as a parent, I will NEVER forget the time Jeff went to Lange’s several years ago, ordered a sandwich, but realized too late that he had left his wallet at home. The lovely white-haired guy at the counter told him not to worry about it, and that he should just come back and pay whenever he had a chance. Now THAT’S a throwback- the owner just trusting a young kid to come back and pay. Not surprisingly, Jeff came home, told me the story, grabbed his wallet, and immediately returned to pay his debt.

  2. Dana December 3, 2010 at 11:52 pm #

    Lange’s baby! That white-haired guy calls my dad “Brooklyn”. And I’m sure Jeff would go to whichever deli his friends preferred 🙂

  3. Dana December 3, 2010 at 11:55 pm #

    P.S.–Unfortunately the state of Minnesota seems to have no idea what a 24/7 deli is. Jeff (and every single Greeley grad) would disapprove.

Leave a Reply

